Elmer Day 2019

ELMER DAY – MAY 25, 2019!!!
2019 will mark the 30th anniversary of the first book published about the patchwork elephant Elmer. Written by David McKee, the series features over 30 picture books.
In contrast with his fellow gray elephants, Elmer is covered in colorful patchwork. The classic character allows young children to explore what makes them unique and the diversity of the community around them. Elmer’s attempt in the very first book to hide his unique patchwork results in his friends reassuring Elmer that they love him because of his differences, and not in spite of them.
The Graceville Public Library will be celebrating Elmer Day with patchwork crafts, games, etc. for you to do.
Elmer’s Special Day revisits Elmer Day in the jungle. This time Elmer realizes that the other animals in the jungle have been left out of the celebration. Elmer declares “everyone means everyone” when it comes to Elmer Day. The message invites children to consider who they might be leaving out in their own play and friendships. Once again, Elmer stands for the celebration of self and the inclusion of all.

Elmer-Banner-2

Reminder

As a friendly reminder, you have 2 weeks to pick up your baskets before they will go to the next person. Please be sure to pick up your prize as soon as possible. Thank you!

WE HAVE OUR WINNERS!! 

We had 18 adults participate and 40 kids!
Congratulations to Jennifer Smith on guessing 10,044 books in the library. She was short 4,577 as we have a total of 14,621 books. Jennifer will be taking home the ‘Life is a Garden’ pot of gardening goodies! Congratulations to Elizabeth Eustice for guessing 500 goldfish in the bowl. She was just 23 long of the 477 goldfish that were in the bowl. Elizabeth will be taking home the ‘Rainbow of Fun’ basket full of books, toys, and candy.

Bus Trip

Who’s ready for another bus trip?
Yes, we are going on a trip again. Not too far away, but yet a full day. The date is Friday, May 17th. We will leave Ortonville at 8:00 a.m., pick up in Graceville at 8:30 a.m. We should be back about 6-6:30 p.m.
We will be visiting the Runestone Museum in Alexandria, then go on to the Carlos Creek Winery for our lunch ($12), wine tasting and seeing how they make it. Our last stop will be at the Design Station. Here you will have the opportunity to see the workshop and make yourself a sign to take home with you.
The only cost to you is $12 for your lunch. This must be paid at the time of registration to hold your seat. All the other admission costs and craft costs are covered. Sign up today at the Ortonville or Graceville Public Library. Seats are limited. Big Stone County residents have the first opportunity. Put your name on the waiting list if you are not from Big Stone County.

Attention please!

Due to the weather, we have asked MN author Frank F. Weber to postpone his visit to our library so people here feel more comfortable coming out to see him. He will be here Saturday, April 27 at 10:30am. We hope this snow ends soon.

ATTENTION ADULT BOOK CLUBERS!!!!

May’s ‘Book Club in a Bag’ came earlier than expected. Please stop in and get this book ASAP if you are interested in May’s Book Club. This book is High Demand and I can’t keep it any longer than 28 days. I will work something out for a date soon and keep you all posted.
SYNOPSIS…
For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.
 
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
 
#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
 
“I can’t even express how much I love this book! I didn’t want this story to end!”–Reese Witherspoon
 
“Painfully beautiful.”–The New York Times Book Review
 
“Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”–Bustle

Calendar Raffle Fundraiser

IT’S THAT TIME OF YEAR AGAIN!
The Friends of the Graceville Library are doing their calendar raffle fundraiser, and we would love for you to win up to $300!! All you have to do is purchase a $20 ticket either from a FOL member or at the Graceville Library. The drawing will be held on June 28 at the library. Names of the winners will be published weekly in the Northern Star, as well as on Facebook, and on our website. Profits will buy books, audio books, DVDs, etc., for the library. We appreciate your support!

Winter Reading Program Winners

Well, this is a first. We have a tie! Congratulations to Julie Wagner and Butch Doll who have ended the Winter Reading Program this year with 55 books each. That’s a lot of books in 3 months! Coming in second is Sharon Athey at 46 and third is Kay Hodge at 42. We sure have some dedicated readers. Julie and Butch each have won a $20 gift certificate to Graceville Country Market. Thanks to everyone who participated and we will see you again next winter!

NEW SERIES FOR KIDS

ATTENTION!
We have a new series in today that we think your reluctant reader (around 5th grade) may enjoy. This is the ‘Lucky Luke’s Hunting Adventures’ series by MN author, Kevin Lovegreen. All the stories in the series are based on real experiences that happened to Kevin or his family. We have this set up in our junior fiction area as our Featured Book Series. Stop in and pick up a book or two!


MN Writes MN Reads

Local authors – indie, self-published, aspiring, and mainstream – can now create ebooks and share them with readers across the state and potentially across the country using free tools provided by Minnesota libraries.

For helpful hints click here


StoryLibrary.org