Bus Trip

Who’s ready for another bus trip?
Yes, we are going on a trip again. Not too far away, but yet a full day. The date is Friday, May 17th. We will leave Ortonville at 8:00 a.m., pick up in Graceville at 8:30 a.m. We should be back about 6-6:30 p.m.
We will be visiting the Runestone Museum in Alexandria, then go on to the Carlos Creek Winery for our lunch ($12), wine tasting and seeing how they make it. Our last stop will be at the Design Station. Here you will have the opportunity to see the workshop and make yourself a sign to take home with you.
The only cost to you is $12 for your lunch. This must be paid at the time of registration to hold your seat. All the other admission costs and craft costs are covered. Sign up today at the Ortonville or Graceville Public Library. Seats are limited. Big Stone County residents have the first opportunity. Put your name on the waiting list if you are not from Big Stone County.

Attention please!

Due to the weather, we have asked MN author Frank F. Weber to postpone his visit to our library so people here feel more comfortable coming out to see him. He will be here Saturday, April 27 at 10:30am. We hope this snow ends soon.

ATTENTION ADULT BOOK CLUBERS!!!!

May’s ‘Book Club in a Bag’ came earlier than expected. Please stop in and get this book ASAP if you are interested in May’s Book Club. This book is High Demand and I can’t keep it any longer than 28 days. I will work something out for a date soon and keep you all posted.
SYNOPSIS…
For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.
 
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
 
#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
 
“I can’t even express how much I love this book! I didn’t want this story to end!”–Reese Witherspoon
 
“Painfully beautiful.”–The New York Times Book Review
 
“Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”–Bustle

Calendar Raffle Fundraiser

IT’S THAT TIME OF YEAR AGAIN!
The Friends of the Graceville Library are doing their calendar raffle fundraiser, and we would love for you to win up to $300!! All you have to do is purchase a $20 ticket either from a FOL member or at the Graceville Library. The drawing will be held on June 28 at the library. Names of the winners will be published weekly in the Northern Star, as well as on Facebook, and on our website. Profits will buy books, audio books, DVDs, etc., for the library. We appreciate your support!

Winter Reading Program Winners

Well, this is a first. We have a tie! Congratulations to Julie Wagner and Butch Doll who have ended the Winter Reading Program this year with 55 books each. That’s a lot of books in 3 months! Coming in second is Sharon Athey at 46 and third is Kay Hodge at 42. We sure have some dedicated readers. Julie and Butch each have won a $20 gift certificate to Graceville Country Market. Thanks to everyone who participated and we will see you again next winter!

NEW SERIES FOR KIDS

ATTENTION!
We have a new series in today that we think your reluctant reader (around 5th grade) may enjoy. This is the ‘Lucky Luke’s Hunting Adventures’ series by MN author, Kevin Lovegreen. All the stories in the series are based on real experiences that happened to Kevin or his family. We have this set up in our junior fiction area as our Featured Book Series. Stop in and pick up a book or two!

ATTENTION JUNIOR READERS! NEW IN TODAY!!

We have a new series in that we think you may enjoy. An enchanting, exciting fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blending the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozen’s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood.

DON’T FOGET

For those of you that are in the Adult Book Club, we will meet on March 27 at 5 pm at the library.

COMING UP FOR ADULT BOOK CLUB IN APRIL

I will post when the books arrive at the library. Anyone can join that is over the age of 18. Please stop at the library to sign up today!

From the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone

OUR HOUSE. OUR FAMILY. OUR SECRETS.

Meet the picture-perfect Bird family: pragmatic Meg, dreamy Beth, and towheaded twins Rory and Rhys, one an adventurous troublemaker, the other his slighter, more sensitive counterpart. Their father is a sweet, gangly man, but it’s their beautiful, free-spirited mother Lorelei who spins at the center. In those early years, Lorelei tries to freeze time by filling their simple brick house with precious mementos. Easter egg foils are her favorite. Craft supplies, too. She hangs all of the children’s art, to her husband’s chagrin.

Then one Easter weekend, a tragedy so devastating occurs that, almost imperceptibly, it begins to tear the family apart. Years pass and the children have become adults, while Lorelei has become the county’s worst hoarder. She has alienated her husband and children and has been living as a recluse. But then something happens that beckons the Bird family back to the house they grew up in—to finally understand the events of that long-ago Easter weekend and to unearth the many secrets hidden within the nooks and crannies of home.



MN Writes MN Reads

Local authors – indie, self-published, aspiring, and mainstream – can now create ebooks and share them with readers across the state and potentially across the country using free tools provided by Minnesota libraries.

For helpful hints click here


StoryLibrary.org